Derby Draw

Posted on Updated on

AFC v Spurs

A North London Derby (NLD) is always special. It’s us vs them, when form goes out of the window and anything can happen. During recent years it is the twice (sometimes thrice) yearly ritualistic time of year when both sets of fans exhibit loud and proud their club’s history.

For me, this North London Derby was extra special. it was the first one for my little boy. I wish I could remember my first NLD. As it was in the early 80’s there was a good chance we got beat! so I am probably better off forgetting it! But I,like many fans brought up in the 80’s,90’s and naughties, I can count on just about two hands how many times them lot got the better of us. I only need one hand to remember how many times they finished above since 1993. We have been very fortunate, and I wanted my son’s first NLD memory to be a positive one.

I will repeat what I tweeted after the game – we could have won, we should have won, but when you are 0-1 down with 20 minutes to go, you take the draw.

We didn’t lose is all I was saying to my son as we came out. He loved it – the singing, the taunts and The Ox’s goal. Once we scored I think he was more vocal than me and all I could envisage was Spurs coming down the other end and scoring a winner. Sorry, that is just my phsyche,

derbies1

Only seeing a few reports, seeing a few Spurs friends and reading a few tweets/Facebook posts from each side since the final whistle, the usual double sided views were on display:

  • Can’t believe you (AFC) couldn’t beat our (THFC) pony team
  • You (AFC) should be embarrassed
  • We (AFC) should have mashed them Spuds
  • They (THFC) are bang average, we (AFC) should have won
  • We’re (THFC) disappointed we didn’t win
  • They (AFC) were there for the taking, we (THFC) should have won

I agree with some of the many comments but won’t get dragged into a verbal war of words – after a NLD everyone is right. I have spent years arguing with Spurs fans, neither ever wins. We are blinkered by our passion our team and not letting either get one up on each other.

I’d like to think (like a few other of my AFC and THFC friends) that I am pretty down to earth when it comes to analysing The Arsenal and our opposition. So here is my view:

  • We (AFC) didn’t fire on all cylinders offensively – partly down to us but also because (for once) they (THFC) were pretty well organised
  • I’ve always said Lloris is their best player by a mile and he kept Spurs in the game
  • Spurs are average – and we should be disappointed we didn’t win – we probably did enough to do so
  • They (THFC) scored with the one real clear cut chance that was literally gifted to them
  • I am not going to rant about our DM position – but Flamini – dear oh dear
  • I also blame Chesney partly for their goal – why he and the Defence insisted to always play out from the back – we were looking for trouble and with their goal, we got it!
  • I am glad the Ox scored – of all the attacking players I thought he was the most consistent throughout the game and really wanted it
  • Ozil and Jack had pretty good games – shame Jack picked up a knock which inhibited him in latter stages
  • Alexis should have started
  • Danny huffed and puffed in the first half, in the second, I forgot he was still playing

Overall, let’s take the draw and move on. Beating Spurs is always important, but we have bigger fish to fry this week (Galatasary and Chelsea). For Spurs, we are the cod of all cods and it is always fascinating to see that their three goals for each season remains by the way they celebrated:

  • We must not lose to Arsenal
  • We must not lose to Arsenal
  • There’s a third goal?

Gap

 As for The Arsenal, there are currently two unbeaten teams in the Premier League.Come 6pm on Sunday, there will only be one and they won’t be wearing red and white. I hope I eat these words next Sunday, but with our naive defence, no defensive midelfield cover, and an average GK at best, we are asking for trouble. But I live in hope. Come on you Gunners!

Leave a Reply

